David Lynch Drops His Big Dream

David Lynch Drops His Big Dream

I guess it shouldn't be a surprise that "The Big Dream" has the title that it does, coming from the Master of Dreams himself, Mr. David Lynch. So YES let's just put it out there right now that I am/was/will always be a big fan of Lynch, as pretentious and stupidly arty as he may seem to some. I don't really need things to make sense, and I appreciate things that don't. Given that, I have a high tolerance for watching mutated, sperm-like mutant babies float through outer space.

Thankfully for you, this isn't that. It isn't even about that. It's about music. It's true that the summer season is upon us, and everyone's bustin' out the happy-go-lucky jams and perhaps "The Big Dream" – with it’s release date of July 16th - will be far from giving us tracks that fall into that categorization... BUT, when the evening creeps in and the leaves begin to bitterly flutter to the ground and you're blowing fog-enhanced smoke-rings under a streetlamp - truly what could be more appropriate.


"The Big Dream" is Lynch's follow up to 2011's "Crazy Clown Time", an admittedly bizarro but well received album that lyrically weaved tales revolving around stalking women, Alan Watts-ish analyzing of destructive thought patterns, and of course, the titular Crazy Clown Time, which to be perfectly honest I'm not entirely sure how to explain. I'll just put it right here:

For those of you who are reluctant to listen to his admittedly off-putting voice, I understand. However, much like the people who have but one thing to say about Bob Dylan ("ugh, he's a HORRIBLE singer!"), it doesn't matter. It could hardly be denied that the most important works of art are often not aesthetically pleasing. You're not going to drive around with the windows rolled down, licking a popsicle and crankin' "Chimes of Freedom". In much the same way, Lynch's music requires something of you - but if you give it, you will be rewarded. You never know - on some long late-night walk home you might even NEED it. Appropriately enough, "The Big Dream" will feature a Bob Dylan cover, as well as a bonus track with Lykke Li.

Musically it's about as weird as white-guy-blues can get, and it all gives a sort of vague, temporary impression of what it might be like to listen in to someone else's head. Whether David Lynch's head is something you'd want to get into or not is another matter, but you can be rest assured that I can, will, and already do. As often as possible.

Photos Courtesy Of: thefourohfive, hypetrak

By Onwyn Stacey
Jun 11, 2013 @ 13:42


Content Stream

  • Jan 22, 2015 @ 12:29IX Staff90 views
    Emerging Grime and Dubstep artist from Montreal, Fill Spectre has delivered to us his first official EP full of bass driven bangers featuring Mortal Kombat slaps, woosh and punches to your face with two tracks "Gotcha" and "Murda". These two tracks go hand-in-hand and deliver a full experience of the type of sound Fill Spectre has been working on for a while.  Watch out for the staccato'ed Violins and dancehall vocal samples, they are going to take over your brains. Listen...
  • Jan 22, 2015 @ 12:05IX Staff162 views
    As soon as we laid eyes and ears on singer/songwriter Phoebe Ryan, we knew she was someone to keep on our radar. This Scandinavian pop artist has a great voice to boot. Her debut is definitely more than just ordinary. She uploaded her own rendition of two of our favourite timeless tracks and even put together a music video for it. We know, we know, EVERYONE has done a cover mash of R. Kelly’s “Ignition”... but no one added Miguel’s “Do You" to the mix yet. Which in effect, creates a truly...
  • Jan 22, 2015 @ 11:38IX Staff56 views
    If you are still unfamiliar with Ryan Hemsworth, you're probably living under a rock at this point. The Halifax born journalist turned DJ/Producer has dropped a brand new video for his single "Too Long Here" featuring vocals from Alex G. This music video was directed by Alex Girav and features a young woman walking around town following herself(?) to oblivion(?). This is the second single from Ryan Hemsworth's Alone For The First Time album which was released towards the end of...
  • Jan 22, 2015 @ 10:56IX Staff214 views
    Gearing up for his debut album release at the end of February, Toronto up and coming artist Marlon James drops a simple yet psychedelic video for his single "Away".  Check it out here:  Directed by Marco Baldonado, the video represents the lingering feelings of a past relationship gone sour, represented by whispy smoke projections of James himself. His role as a creative catalyst to some of Toronto's most prominent creatives (Tanika Charles, Birthday Boy, Junia-T) has solidified his...
  • Jan 22, 2015 @ 10:24Dana Ewachow37 views
    Never has a kitten exploding looked so appealing. Normally, being excited to see a feline-firecracker would be frowned upon, but the game Exploding Kittens has made the psychotic desire incredibly popular. The Kickstarter campaign for the card game reached its pledge goal of $10,000 within 20 minutes. After a day they have over 46,000 backers and over a million dollars pledged. They still have 29 days left, and it’s safe to assume by February they’ll have taken over the world. The game was...
  • Jan 21, 2015 @ 10:30Jessica Canje72 views
    Save the date boys and girls, Toro Y Moi will be releasing a new album What For? on April 7th 2015. Chaz Bundick aka Toro Y Moi didn’t leave fans hanging he also released a single on SoundCloud via Carpark Records.  The track “Empty Nesters” proves Chaz not to be scared of exploring a different sound. While albums under Les Sins have been more beat driven and electronic, the new song previews a groovy album. From 2013’s Anything In Return following last year’s album Michael, Toro Y Moi...
  • Jan 21, 2015 @ 10:28Mel Eshaghbeigi49 views
    If you haven't already fallen head over heels for the soft crooning synthy r&b goodness that is Majid Jordan, I don't know where you've been living for the past couple months/I don't really know what you're into but I think you need to broaden your musical horizons. Here's four things you should know about the duo: 1) They co-produced and sang on Drake's "Hold On We're Going Home." 2) They're signed to OVO Sound. 3) Their summer release titled A Place Like This is fucking amazing...
  • Jan 21, 2015 @ 10:21Kaeleigh Phillips19 views
    Lipstick&Dynamite            A hip little eatery on Queen West and Shaw Street that caters to a vegan and vegetarian audience. This restaurant is an adorable dive that attracts people looking for a reasonably priced bite to eat and a drink, strongly in contrast to many other ritzy bars in the Queen West area. Their brunch menu includes a delicious vegan eggs benedict and buckwheat waffles. The dinner menu includes a veganized bangers&mash which is to die...
More articles